Sweet Land the Musical to tour Minnesota!

The History Theatre received an Arts Tour grant from the Minnesota State Arts Board to support a greater Minnesota tour of “Sweet Land the Musical” in 2017! The show will first be presented at L’Homme Dieu Theatre near Alexandria from June 20-25 and in five communities in October of 2017.  Photograph:  Rick Spauldingnew-ann-shot

Twin Cities Film Festival congratulates SWEET LAND 10th anniversary!

film-swlm mn-film-swlm tim-olaf-swlm-ann



Thanks to Ali Selim for a beautiful film and Will Weaver for his inspirational short story, A Gravestone Made of Wheat. Sweet Land the musical, creators and cast members enjoyed the film screening reinvigorating us for our journey this spring at the History Theatre!


Tinia Moulder (Brownie/musical), Will Weaver (short story author) & Robert Elhai (musical orchestrator)

Laurie Flanigan Hegge (lyricist/co-writer/musical) & Film producer- Jim Bigham

Tim Guinee (Olaf/film) & Ann Michels (Inge/musical)

NEXT STAGES for Sweet Land the musical


Frandsen & Inge

Thanks to History Theatre, Ron Peluso & the workshop cast for the June 6th – 11th final workshop before we go into production this spring!  Thanks to Ann Michels, Sean Dooley, Tinia Moulder, Jon Hegge, Marty Ruben, Norah Long, Jim Ramlet, Anna (HT intern), Matt Riehle, Kellie Nitz, Randall Davidson & Jason Hansen.  We got the chance to fine tune the script, experiment with musical moments through dance.  Joe Chvala (choreographer) and Jason Hansen (Musical Director) were onboard this time around – thanks for their insight & talents.  Special thanks to Laurie Flanigan Hegge and Robert Elhai also for their continued work.  Missed you Dina!  Here are some highlights!

Photo credit:  Rick Spaulding


History Theatre Announces 2016-17 season

Sweet Land the Musical  in History Theatre’s 2016-17 season!

Premieres April 29th, 2017 Anne_TrainBench CU through May 28th!



Perrin Post – Bookwriter/Director

Laurie Flanigan Hegge – Co-bookwriter/Lyricist

Dina Maccabee – Composer

Robert Elhai – Orchestrator

Jason Hansen – Musical Director / Joe Chvala – choreography

Cast:  Ann Michels, Robert Berdahl, Tinia Moulder, Jon Hegge, Michael Gruber, Jim Ramlet, Kendall Thompson, Matt Reihle, Kellie Nitz…plus more to come!